XOXO

During my initial forays into the social networking world, I used to see the word ‘XOXO’ at the end of many emotionally blissful status updates. Females are mostly ‘guilty’ of this. Being my usual inquisitive self, I googled ‘XOXO’! I saw that in online messaging, it meant ‘Hugs and Kisses’. Still vague to me, I ‘researched’ a bit more. Then I found it. Each ‘X’ stands for a person’s four limbs while each ‘O’ stands for a person’s head. Thus, ‘XOXO’ stands for two people embracing. Albeit an horizontal one!

If I was asked to summarize life in one word, I’d say: Relationship. With God. With man. With your family. With your neighbour. With your bosses at work. With strangers. Relationship! Relationship!! Relationship!!!

All of life’s problems are relationship problems. And all relationship problems bore down to love. Today, we speak of spiritual dryness in our worship centres. Why? Because we don’t love God and have a relationship with Him.
We speak of strife in our families and neighbourhoods. Why? Because people are not relating in love.
There are political tensions in every nation of the world. Why? Because the people and the leaders don’t have a working loving relationship with God and their fellow citizens.

So, how do you think you are faring ‘relationship-wise’? Good? Bad? Moderately okay? Whichever you pick, a healthy relationship with God and man is possible. Let’s make an effort to make our world a better place because it begins with you and I.

XOXO

7 Comments

  1. You hit the nail on the head. Too many people don’t even know God much less have a relationship with him. We live in an “it’s all about me world” instead of it’s all about God.
    It does begin with you and I and the people He brings across our path. And rather than be focused on what we can do in our circles of relationships, many become overhwhelmed that they can’t fix it all and just give up. If everyone would take care of their own sphere of influence pretty soon the whole world would be encompassed with more loving relationships. Blessings, Natalie

    1. Thanks for stopping by. Your insight into the matter is exactly what I had in mind. Little drops of water make the mighty ocean…and the ocean mighty. In the same vein, the absence or presence of love in the world is a simple sum total of each individual’s attitude towards God and fellow men. May God help us all.

      1. I like the idea of being a little drop of water in the mighty ocean. I would have been visiting your site for some time if I had a clue about how to do such things. I just recently figured it out so forgive me for my not visiting earlier. I’m a newbie at blogging and such. Have a blessed day!
        Natalie

  2. We just joined a group who are studying “Overcoming the Obstacles to Intimacy with God.” It’s a fantastic study so far. In the intro, the leader stated that if we do not know that we can have that kind of relationship with God, we won’t try to pursue Him. I’m amazed at the number of believers who’ve never known that this was a possibility! Tell everyone, k?

    \o/

  3. You did nail it. I’ve always said this, that WORK is easy. The doing is totally doable. It’s the people, the relationships that become trying at times. Thx for touching base. I am a week behind on response to readers. Been under it – so much going on, esp with the homeschooling and desperate attempts to write. Glad you’re plugging away here.

Leave a Reply

